Evaluate the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics (JOBSTAT)

Project

Summary

A project team of 15 people evaluates the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics. The aim is to produce reliable estimates of the total number of jobs and FTEs for cantons, major towns and NOGA levels that were not anticipated in the sample plan.

Description

Most economic statistics published in the WI section are based on sample surveys. The survey plan is generally established at the economic division level (NOGA2) and the major regions (NUTS 1). There is also considerable demand for results at detailed levels (cantons, communes, NOGA3, NOGA4, etc., MIGS (Eurostat’s main industrial groupings), employers’ associations and professional organisations.) In these cases, the FSO’s usual response is to suggest an increase in sample size through co-financing. This practice is costly for clients but also goes against aims to reduce the burden on enterprises. The aim of the present project is to evaluate small area estimation methods' potential to respond to these needs without increasing sample sizes. The main statistics concerned by these needs are the quarterly Job Statistics (JOBSTAT, KE section), the wage statistics (SESS; LOHN section) and the value added statistics MON section), the IID statistics (production, turnover and orders in industry and services: KE section), cantonal GDP (VGR section), etc.

Objectives

The first objective of the project is to evaluate the method’s potential. The activities focus on the Job Statistics and other enterprise data relating to employment that are already available at the FSO in this area (STATENT, OASI). The second goal is to transfer this knowledge to a project team (of 15 members of staff), so that they could apply these techniques to other statistics from the division.

Ermittlung des Potenzials von «Kleingebietsschätzungen» im Rahmen der Beschäftigungsstatistik (BESTA)

Projekt

Zusammenfassung

Ein rund 15-köpfiges Projektteam prüft, inwiefern die Methode «Kleingebietsschätzungen» sich für die Beschäftigungsstatistik eignet. Ziel ist es, zuverlässige Schätzungen der Gesamtbeschäftigung und der VZÄ für Kantone, Grossstädte und im Stichprobenplan nicht berücksichtigte NOGA-Stufen vorzunehmen.

Beschreibung

Die meisten der von der Abteilung WI publizierten Wirtschaftsstatistiken basieren auf Stichprobenerhebungen. Der Stichprobenplan wird in der Regel auf Stufe Wirtschaftsabteilungen (NOGA2) und Grossregionen (NUTS1) erstellt. Schätzungen auf detaillierterer Stufe (Kantone, Gemeinden, NOGA3, NOGA4, MIGS [Main industrial groupings von Eurostat], Arbeitgeber- und Berufsverbände) werden stark nachgefragt. In diesen Fällen schlägt das BFS meistens Stichprobenaufstockungen in Kofinanzierung vor. Diese Praxis ist für die Auftragnehmer aufwendig und wirkt ausserdem dem Ziel der Entlastung der Unternehmen entgegen. Mit dem vorliegenden Projekt soll geprüft werden, inwiefern solche Schätzungen mittels «Kleingebietsschätzungen» (Small Area Estimation), d.h. ohne die Stichprobengrösse anzuheben, möglich sind. Am stärksten ist der Bedarf unter anderem bei der vierteljährlichen Beschäftigungsstatistik (BESTA, Sektion KE), der Lohnstrukturerhebung (LSE, Sektion LOHN), der Wertschöpfungsstatistik (Sektion MON), den IID-Statistiken (Produktion, Umsatz und Aufträge in Industrie und Dienstleistungen: Sektion KE) und den kantonalen BIP (Sektion VGR).

Ziele

Hauptziel des Projekts ist die Ermittlung des Potenzials dieser Methode. Arbeitsgegenstand sind die Beschäftigungsstatistik und die weiteren im BFS bereits verfügbaren Unternehmensdaten zur Beschäftigung (STATENT, AHV). Als zweites Ziel soll ein Projektteam (15 Mitarbeitende) in diesem Bereich ausgebildet werden, damit die Methode auch bei anderen Statistiken der Abteilung WI angewandt werden kann.