Machine Learning SoSi (ML_SoSi)

Project

Summary

The clustering of typical prospective trajectories patterns concerning the receipt of benefits in the social security system as well as employment and the estimation of cluster affiliation through the use of individual characteristics and retrospective process data applying a machine learning approach.

Description

Based on a cohort of people entering social assistance and/or unemployment insurance, the benefits and employment trajectories can be observed (prospectively) for a certain period using SHIVALV+IK data. These combined trajectories will be described with data-driven processes and grouped together on the basis of similarity/dissimilarity (sequence clustering). Subsequently, using information that was available at the time persons entered the system, the probability of belonging to the trajectory clusters identified will be calculated for each person. This information includes structural variables such as age, sex, and houshold type, as well as information on employment and social benefit receipt prior to entering the system (retrospective). It is therefore an estimate of the probable case trajectory for a defined period starting from the moment of entering the system. A machine learning approach will be applied for this purpose: The model (features, method of estimation and its parameters for generalisation of data, and weights, etc.) will be inductively determined by means of systematic experimentation. On this basis, aggregated prognosis indicators for the frequency of certain trajectory patterns can be developed.

Objectives

The institutional framework makes it possible for a variety of trajectories to enter the social security system and to leave it again, in other words to become economically independent again. The potential for estimating individual trajectories in the social security system by means of inductive methods will being assessed and tested for reliability. Models for the early identification of high-risk trajectory patterns, i.e. those of people who have very little chance of being reintegrated into employment, will be calculated. We will also assess to what extent the indicators calculated using this method can be repeated and published periodically.

Machine Learning SoSi (ML_SoSi)

Projekt

Zusammenfassung

Gruppierung typischer prospektiver Verlaufsmuster bezüglich Leistungsbezügen im System der Sozialen Sicherheit und Erwerbsarbeit sowie Schätzung der Gruppenzugehörigkeit durch Nutzung individueller Merkmale und retrospektiver Verlaufsdaten unter Anwendung eines machine-learning-Ansatzes.

Beschreibung

Ausgehend von einer Kohorte von Personen, die in die Sozialhilfe und/oderin die Arbeitslosenversicherung eintritt, können die Bezugs- und Erwerbsverläufe anhand der SHIVALV+IK-Daten für eine bestimmte Dauer beobachtet werden (prospektiv). Diese kombinierten Verläufe sollen mit datengetriebenen Verfahren beschrieben und aufgrund ihrer Ähnlichkeit/Unähnlichkeit gruppiert (sequence clustering) werden. Anschliessend wird anhand der Informationen, welche zum Zeitpunkt des Eintritts bekannt sind, für jede Person die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Zugehörigkeit zu den identifizierten Verlaufsclusters berechnet. Einbezogen werden dabei Strukturmerkmale (Alter, Geschlecht, HH-Typ, uam) ebenso wie Informationen zum Verlauf des Erwerbs oder Sozialleistungsbezug der dem Systemeintritt vorausgeht (retrospektiv). Es handelt sich also um eine Schätzung des wahrscheinlichen Fallverlaufs für eine definierte Dauer ab Zeitpunkt des Eintritts. Dafür wird ein Machine-Learning-Ansatz gewählt: Das Modell (Features, Schätzmethode und deren Parameter für die Verallgemeinerung, Gewichte...) soll durch systematisches Experimentieren induktiv ermittelt werden. Darauf aufbauend sollen aggregierte Prognoseindikatoren für die Häufigkeit bestimmter Verlaufsmuster entwickelt werden.

Ziele

Die institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen lassen eine Vielzahl von Verläufen zu in das System der sozialen Sicherung einzutreten und es wieder zu verlassen, d.h. wirtschaftlich wieder selbständig zu werden. Das Potenzial zur Schätzung individueller Verläufe im System der sozialen Sicherheit mittels induktiven Methoden wird untersucht und auf ihre Zuverlässigkeit hin geprüft. Modelle zur frühzeitigen Identifikation risikoreicher Verlaufsmuster, d.h. solche die sich kaum mehr in die Arbeitswelt integrieren, werden berechnet. Zudem wird evaluiert, inwieweit mit dieser Methode berechnete Indikatoren periodisch wiederholt und veröffentlicht werden können.