SwissCovid App Monitoring

| These results are updated from Monday to Friday at 14:00 with data from the previous day(s).

image – experimental statistics

Background

The purpose of the SwissCovid app is to stop COVID-19 from spreading further and to identify any possible second wave in good time in order to tackle it more effectively. The app complements the cantons’ conventional contact tracing of transmission chains.

Pursuant to Article 12 of the Ordinance on the Proximity Tracing System for Coronavirus SARS-COV-2 (OPTS), the Federal Office of Public Health provides the Federal Statistical Office (FSO) with statistical data periodically and in fully anonymised form. The FSO publishes the number of active SwissCovid apps, the number of downloaded SwissCovid apps, the days between the onset of symptoms and the transmission of the covid code in users who have entered the covid code, and the number of entered covid codes. It updates these data on working days.

Results

The SwissCovid app has been available to the public to download via the Apple and Google app stores since 28th May 2020 as a pilot version and since 25th June 2020 as a final version. The development of the number of active SwissCovid apps, the number of SwissCovid apps downloaded by now, the number of covid codes entered by users of the SwissCovid app, and the days between the onset of symptoms and the transmission of the covid code in users who have entered the covid code are shown in graphics. The number of entered covid codes is published with a time delay of two days. This means that codes are also counted when entered by users of the SwissCovid app only one day after issue by the cantonal health authorities.

Objectives

The release of the app on 25th June 2020 allows for data to be analysed based on the infrastructure of the app-based proximity tracing. For this purpose, the FSO has published the number of active SwissCovid apps on a daily basis since 26th June 2020. This figure provides information on how the SwissCovid app is used by the population on a daily basis. From 23rd July 2020 onwards, the number of active SwissCovid apps is calculated using a new procedure. In addition, the number of downloads of the SwissCovid app and the number of covid codes entered by app users is also published. As of 12.10.2020, the number of days between the onset of symptoms and the transmission of the covid code in users who have entered the covid code is also published.

Methodology

Summary

The Federal Office of Information Technology, Systems and Telecommunication (FOITT) provides the FSO with daily figures on the number of downloaded and active SwissCovid apps. In addition, the number of ‘covid codes’ entered by app users who have tested positive every day and the number of days between the onset of symptoms and the transmission of the covid code in users who have entered the covid code is also provided. The FSO informs the public about this using texts and graphs and makes the relevant data available for download.

Data source and data flow

The number of SwissCovid apps downloaded to date is reported to the FOITT by Apple and Google with a time delay of one to three days.

Until 22nd July 2020, the calculation of the number of active SwissCovid apps was based on the app’s automatic contact with the proximity tracing system to update configuration data. This automatic contact takes place several times a day, enabling the number of active apps per day to be calculated. This number largely corresponds with the number of users of the app but may be lower for technical reasons. This is the case, for example, if apps are not permanently active or when mobile phones are switched off or are not connected to a network.

Since 23rd July 2020, the calculated number of active SwissCovid apps is based on active apps making a dummy request to the proximity tracing system statistically once every five days.

These dummy requests are used to ensure data protection so that users who enter a covid code cannot be identified. The number of dummy requests provides a basis for calculating the number of active apps. This method is more robust than the method based on automatic contact to update the configuration. Further methodological information on the previous and the new calculation method for the number of active SwissCovid Apps can be found here:

In the event of a positive test result for the new coronavirus, the cantonal authorities send a covid code to the app users who have tested positive. If the covid code is entered into the app by the user, other app users who were exposed to a risk of infection are informed automatically. In the group of app users with a positive test result who have subsequently entered the code sent to them, the days between the onset of symptoms and the transmission of the covid code are recorded. These figures, as well as the number of active SwissCovid apps and the daily number of ‘covid codes’ entered by app users who have tested positive are provided to the FSO every day by the FOITT.

The FSO publishes these figures on working days at 2:00 p.m. by means of texts, graphs and tables. The monitoring covers all people who have downloaded the SwissCovid app to their mobile phone from 25 June 2020 onwards.

The publication of these statistics is still being developed and may be subject to change.

SwissCovid-App Monitoring

| Diese Ergebnisse werden von Montag bis Freitag täglich um 14.00 Uhr anhand der Daten des Vortags bzw. der vergangenen Tage aktualisiert.

Bild – experimental statistics

Ausgangslage

Die SwissCovid-App hat zum Ziel, eine weitere Ausbreitung von Covid-19 beziehungsweise eine mögliche zweite Welle frühzeitig zu erkennen, um sie besser bekämpfen zu können. Die App ergänzt das Contact-Tracing der Kantone, das die Infektionsketten rückverfolgt.

Gemäss Artikel 12 der Verordnung über das Proximity-Tracing-System für das Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 (VPTS) vom 24. Juni 2020 stellt das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) dem Bundesamt für Statistik (BFS) periodisch statistische Daten in vollständig anonymisierter Form für Auswertungen zur Verfügung. Das BFS publiziert die Anzahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps, die Anzahl heruntergeladener SwissCovid-Apps sowie die Anzahl eingegebener Covidcodes und aktualisiert die Daten werktäglich.

Resultate

Die SwissCovid-App steht seit dem 28. Mai 2020 in der Pilotversion und seit dem 25. Juni 2020 in der endgültigen Form für die Öffentlichkeit zum Download über die App-Stores von Apple und Google bereit. Die Entwicklung der Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps, die Anzahl der bisher heruntergeladenen SwissCovid-Apps sowie die Anzahl der von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern der SwissCovid-App eingegebenen Covidcodes wird in Grafiken dargestellt. Die Veröffentlichung der Anzahl eingegebener Covidcodes erfolgt mit einer Verzögerung von zwei Tagen. Hierdurch können auch Codes gezählt werden, die erst am Folgetag nach Ausgabe durch die kantonalen Gesundheitsbehörden von den Nutzenden der SwissCovid-App eingegeben wurden.

Ziele

Mit Beginn des öffentlichen App-Releases vom 25. Juni 2020 können Daten auf der Basis der Infrastruktur des App-basierten Proximity-Tracings ausgewertet werden. Zu diesem Zweck publiziert das BFS ab dem 26. Juni 2020 die Anzahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps pro Tag. Diese Zahl informiert darüber, inwieweit die SwissCovid-App von der Bevölkerung im Alltag verwendet wird. Ab dem 23. Juli 2020 wird die Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps nach einem neuen Verfahren berechnet. Ergänzend wird seither auch die Anzahl der Downloads der SwissCovid-App sowie die Zahl der von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern eingegebenen Covidcodes publiziert.

Methodik

Zusammenfassung

Das Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation (BIT) übermittelt dem BFS täglich die Zahl der bisher heruntergeladenen SwissCovid-Apps sowie die Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps. Überdies wird die Zahl der täglich von positiv getesteten App-Nutzenden eingegebenen Covidcodes übermittelt. Das BFS informiert die Öffentlichkeit hierüber auf der Basis von Texten und Grafiken und stellt die zugrundeliegenden Daten zum Download zur Verfügung.

Datenquelle, Datenfluss und Berechnung

Die Anzahl der bisher insgesamt heruntergeladenen SwissCovid-Apps wird dem BIT von Apple und Google mit einer Verzögerung von einem bis drei Tagen gemeldet.

Die Berechnung der Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps beruhte bis zum 22. Juli 2020 auf der Anzahl automatischer Kontaktaufnahmen der Apps mit dem Proximity-Tracing-System zur Aktualisierung der Konfigurationsdaten. Diese automatische Kontaktaufnahme erfolgt mehrmals täglich. Daraus kann die Anzahl der aktiven Apps pro Tag berechnet werden. Diese Zahl korrespondiert weitgehend mit der Anzahl der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer der App, kann aber aus technischen Gründen tiefer liegen. Dies ist unter anderem dann der Fall, wenn Apps nicht dauernd aktiv sind oder wenn Mobiltelefone abgeschaltet oder nicht im Netz sind.

Seit dem 23. Juli 2020 beruht die berechnete Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps darauf, dass aktive Apps statistisch einmal in fünf Tagen eine Leerabfrage an das Proximity-Tracing-System stellen. Diese Leerabfragen dienen dazu, den Datenschutz zu gewährleisten, so dass Nutzerinnen und Nutzer nicht identifiziert werden können, die einen Covidcode eingeben. Die Zahl dieser Leerabfragen stellt eine Datengrundlage zur Berechnung der aktiven Apps dar, die robuster ist als die bisher verwendeten automatischen Kontaktaufnahmen zur Konfigurationsaktualisierung. Weitergehende methodische Informationen zur bisherigen und zur neuen Berechnungsmethode zur Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps finden sich hier:

Bei positivem Testergebnis für das neue Coronavirus übermitteln die kantonalen Behörden den positiv getesteten Personen, die die App nutzen, einen Covidcode. Wird der Covidcode durch die Nutzerin bzw. den Nutzer in die App eingegeben, werden andere App-Nutzende, die einem Infektionsrisiko ausgesetzt waren, automatisch informiert. Die Zahl der täglich von positiv getesteten Nutzenden der SwissCovid-App eingegebenen Covidcodes wird dem BFS vom BIT täglich zur Verfügung gestellt, ebenso wie die Zahl der aktiven SwissCovid-Apps.

Das BFS veröffentlicht diese Zahlen werktäglich um 14.00 Uhr in Form von Texten, Grafiken und Tabellen. Das Monitoring umfasst alle Personen, die ab dem 25. Juni 2020 die SwissCovid-App auf ein Mobiltelefon geladen haben.

Diese statistische Publikation ist in Entwicklung begriffen und kann sich entsprechend verändern.