FSO's Experimental statistics

Experimental statistics are produced using new methods and/or new data sources and are therefore in line with the FSO’s data innovation strategy and the Confederation's multi-annual programme for federal statistics. This site contains descriptions of the (pilot) projects currently being developed.

By publishing them we can involve users and partners at an early stage for both the development and consolidation of projects.

The aim of these statistical projects is to better meet users’ needs in terms of efficiency, quality and speed. However, these statistics still have the potential to evolve, especially regarding their methodology, which is still being assessed. For this reason they are clearly marked as experimental and carry a logo that can easily be recognised.

Published statistics

Go to Small area estimation (communes) of economic activity rate in the structural survey

Small area estimation (communes) of economic activity rate in the structural survey

The structural population survey provides important information on the population, including information about work. The whole purpose of Small Area Estimation is to push the boundaries imposed by standard methods.

The study showed that it is possible to obtain reliable estimates for both annual economic activity rates for communes that had a sample of at least 100 people.

Pilot projects within the data innovation strategy

On 21 November 2017, the FSO published its data innovation strategy .

This document is the FSO’s first response to the wider subject of digitalisation. More specifically, it focuses on the application of complementary analysis methods (e.g. predictive analysis using advanced statistical techniques, data science and machine learning) that enable the current production of official statistics to be increased or completed. Five pilot projects have been chosen to implement this strategy and are in progress. Each project is described below.

Go to Project ”Area Statistics Deep Learning” (ADELE)

Project ”Area Statistics Deep Learning” (ADELE)

The FSO’s land use statistics are an invaluable tool for long-term land observation. Thisproject involves learning and mastering the use of artificial intelligence (AI) technologiesto eventually automate (even partially) the visual interpretation of aerial images in order todetect and classify changes.

Go to Project ”Automation of NOGA coding” (NOGAuto)

Project ”Automation of NOGA coding” (NOGAuto)

Automation of the coding of the economic activity of enterprises using Machine Learningmethods applied to data already available within the FSO (data from surveys, descriptionsin the commercial register, keywords, explanatory notes for classifications etc.) to supportcoding.

Go to Project ”Machine Learning SoSi” (ML_SoSi)

Project ”Machine Learning SoSi” (ML_SoSi)

The clustering of typical prospective trajectories patterns concerning the receipt ofbenefits in the social security system as well as employment and the estimation of clusteraffiliation through the use of individual characteristics and retrospective process dataapplying a machine learning approach.

Go to Project ”Data validation with machine learning”

Project ”Data validation with machine learning”

The aim of this project is to extend and speed up data validation in the FSO by means of machine learning algorithms and at the same time to improve data quality.

Go to Project ”Evaluate the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics” (JOBSTAT)

Project ”Evaluate the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics” (JOBSTAT)

A project team of 15 people evaluates the potential of small area estimation methods forthe Job Statistics. The aim is to produce reliable estimates of the total number of jobs andFTEs for cantons, major towns and NOGA levels that were not anticipated in the sampleplan.

Statistiques expérimentales de l'OFS

Les statistiques expérimentales sont produites grâce à de nouvelles méthodes et/ou de nouvelles sources de données et sont de ce point de vue en phase aussi bien avec la stratégie d’innovation des données de l’OFS qu’avec le programme statistique pluriannuel de la Confédération. On trouve également sur ce site la description des projets (pilotes) actuellement en cours de développement.

Leur publication permet d’impliquer en amont les utilisateurs et partenaires aussi bien sur le plan de leur développement que de celui de leur consolidation.

Leur but est de répondre encore mieux et plus vite aux besoins des utilisateurs, que ce soit en termes d’efficacité, de qualité ou de rapidité. Ces statistiques disposent cependant encore d’un potentiel de maturité, notamment sur le plan de la méthodologie qui est justement encore en cours d’évaluation. Elles sont de ce fait clairement signalées et sont munies d’un logo facilement reconnaissable.

Statistiques publiées

Estimation petits domaines (communes) du taux d’activité dans le relevé structurel

Le relevé structurel de la population fournit des informations importantes sur la population et notamment sur la situation du travail. Le but de l’estimation sur petits domaines est de repousser les limites imposées par les méthodes standards. Les travaux ont permis de montrer qu’il est possible d’obtenir des estimations annuelles fiables du taux d’activité pour les communes disposant d’un échantillon d’au moins 100 personnes.

Projets pilotes dans le cadre de la stratégie d’innovation sur les données

En date du 21 novembre 2017, l’OFS a publié sa stratégie d’innovation sur les données .

Ce document est la première réponse apportée par l’OFS à la thématique plus large de la numérisation. Elle se concentre plus spécifiquement sur l'application de méthodes d'analyse complémentaires (p.ex. l'analyse prédictive par des techniques statistiques avancées, la science des données et/ou l'apprentissage automatique) qui permettent d’augmenter ou de compléter la production statistique publique actuelle. Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie, cinq projets pilotes ont été retenus et sont actuellement en cours de réalisation. Leur description respective figure ci-dessous.

Projet ”Arealstatistik Deep Learning” (ADELE)

La statistique de la superficie du sol de l’OFS constitue un outil indispensable de l’observation à long terme du territoire. Il s'agit dans ce projet d'apprendre et de maîtriser les technologies de l'Intelligence Artificielle (IA), afin d'automatiser à terme (même partiellement) l’interprétation visuelle des images aériennes pour la détection et la classification des changements.

Projet ”Automatisation du codage NOGA” (NOGAuto)

Automatisation du codage de l'activité économique des entreprises à l’aide des méthodes du Machine Learning appliquées à des données déjà à disposition au sein de l'OFS (données d’enquêtes, description au Registre du commerce, mots-clés, notes explicatives des nomenclatures etc.) pour le soutien à la codification.

Projet ”Machine Learning SoSi” (ML_SoSi)

Identifier, dans une optique prospective, des parcours types dans le système de sécurité sociale et dans la vie professionnelle; grouper les bénéficiaires de prestations en fonction de leurs parcours et estimer la probabilité d'appartenance à un groupe donné par l'utilisation de variables individuelles de données rétrospectives et par l'application d'une procédure de machine learning.

Projet ”Contrôles de plausibilité par des techniques du machine learning”

Ce projet vise à développer et à rendre plus rapides les contrôles de plausibilité à l'OFS par l'utilisation d'algorithmes de machine learning; il vise par là même à améliorer la qualité des données.

Projet ”Evaluer le potentiel des méthodes "estimation sur petits domaines" dans cadre de la Statistique de l’emploi” (BESTA)

Une équipe de projet d'une quinzaine de personnes évalue le potentiel des méthodes "d'estimation sur petits domaines" pour la Statistique de l'emploi. L'objectif est de produiredes estimations fiables du total de l'emploi et des EPT pour les cantons, les grandes villeset à des niveaux de la NOGA non prévus dans le plan d'échantillonnage.