Evaluate the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics (JOBSTAT)

Project

Summary

A project team of 15 people evaluates the potential of small area estimation methods for the Job Statistics. The aim is to produce reliable estimates of the total number of jobs and FTEs for cantons, major towns and NOGA levels that were not anticipated in the sample plan.

Description

Most economic statistics published in the WI section are based on sample surveys. The survey plan is generally established at the economic division level (NOGA2) and the major regions (NUTS 1). There is also considerable demand for results at detailed levels (cantons, communes, NOGA3, NOGA4, etc., MIGS (Eurostat’s main industrial groupings), employers’ associations and professional organisations.) In these cases, the FSO’s usual response is to suggest an increase in sample size through co-financing. This practice is costly for clients but also goes against aims to reduce the burden on enterprises. The aim of the present project is to evaluate small area estimation methods' potential to respond to these needs without increasing sample sizes. The main statistics concerned by these needs are the quarterly Job Statistics (JOBSTAT, KE section), the wage statistics (SESS; LOHN section) and the value added statistics MON section), the IID statistics (production, turnover and orders in industry and services: KE section), cantonal GDP (VGR section), etc.

Objectives

The first objective of the project is to evaluate the method’s potential. The activities focus on the Job Statistics and other enterprise data relating to employment that are already available at the FSO in this area (STATENT, OASI). The second goal is to transfer this knowledge to a project team (of 15 members of staff), so that they could apply these techniques to other statistics from the division.

Evaluer le potentiel des méthodes "estimation sur petits domaines" dans cadre de la Statistique de l’emploi (BESTA)

Projet

Résumé

Une équipe de projet d'une quinzaine de personnes évalue le potentiel des méthodes "d'estimation sur petits domaines" pour la Statistique de l'emploi. L'objectif est de produire des estimations fiables du total de l'emploi et des EPT pour les cantons, les grandes villes et à des niveaux de la NOGA non prévus dans le plan d'échantillonnage.

Description

La plupart des statistiques économiques publiées dans la division WI reposent sur des enquêtes par échantillonnage. Le plan de sondage est généralement établi au niveau des divisions économiques (NOGA2) et des grandes régions (NUTS 1). Il y a pourtant une demande importante pour des résultats à des niveaux plus détaillés (cantons, communes, NOGA3, NOGA4, etc., MIGS (Main industrial groupings d’Eurostat), Associations patronales et professionnelles). Dans ces cas, la réponse apportée par l’OFS est le plus souvent de proposer des augmentations d’échantillons en co-financement. Cette pratique est onéreuse pour les mandataires, mais va également à l’encontre des objectifs de réduction de la charge auprès des entreprises. L’objectif du présent projet est d’évaluer le potentiel des méthodes « d'estimation sur petits domaines » (small area estimation) afin de répondre à ces besoins sans augmenter les tailles d’échantillons. Les principales statistiques concernées par ces besoins sont la Statistique trimestrielle de l’emploi (BESTA, section Enquêtes conjoncturelles), la Statistique des salaires (LSE ; section Salaires et conditions de travail), la Statistique de la valeur ajoutée (Wertschöpfungstatistik : section Statistique monétaire des entreprises), les statistiques IID (Produktion, Umsatz & Aufträge in der Industrie & Dientsleistungen : section Enquêtes conjoncturelles), BIP cantonal (section Comptes nationaux), etc.

Objectifs

L'objectif premier du projet est d’évaluer le potentiel de la méthode. Les travaux porteront sur la Statistique de l'emploi et les autres données d'entreprises reltives à l'emploi déjà disponibles à l'OFS dans ce domaine (STATENT, AVS). Le second objectif est de former l'équipe de projet (15 collaboratrices et collaborateurs) à ces techniques pour être en mesure de les appliquer à d'autres statistiques de la division.