Automation of NOGA coding - NOGAuto

Project

Summary

Automation of the coding of the economic activity of enterprises using Machine Learning methods applied to data already available within the FSO (data from surveys, descriptions in the commercial register, keywords, explanatory notes for classifications etc.) to support coding.

Description

The General Classification of Economic Activities (NOGA) is an essential element for the FSO’s statistical production. The quality of the NOGA coding of the enterprises registered in the Business and Enterprise Register (BER) has a direct impact on the results of the structural, economic and synthetic statistics that concern enterprises. These depend on stable, monitored and quality NOGA coding of the BER units. With a view to reducing the burden on enterprises and continuously improving the coding of enterprises, the project aims to automate the allocation of economic activity codes to enterprises. In an initial phase, this will be based on information that is already available within the FSO.

Staff who are responsible for NOGA coding allocate or controll an enterprise’s economic activity code using the information that is available (survey input, economic activity description from the commercial register, etc.). This is inevitably associated with a human and subjective interpretation of information available which makes standardised coding difficult.

Objectives

Creation of a tool that can automatically link the NOGA codes and the enterprises registered in the BER with a coding quality that is equal or superior to the manual coding currently carried out by the NOGA team.

Standardisation of coding and minimisation of the "interpretation" factor in the NOGA code allocation process.

Improvement of the quality of NOGA coding and consequently of the entire business statistics.

Automatisation du codage NOGA - NOGAuto

Projet

Résumé

Automatisation du codage de l'activité économique des entreprises à l’aide des méthodes du Machine Learning appliquées à des données déjà à disposition au sein de l'OFS (données d’enquêtes, description au Registre du commerce, mots-clés, notes explicatives des nomenclatures etc.) pour le soutien à la codification.

Description

La Nomenclature générale des activités économiques (NOGA) est un élément essentiel de la production statistique à l’OFS. La qualité de la codification NOGA des entreprises enregistrée dans le registre des établissements et des entreprises (REE) a un impact direct sur les résultats des statistiques structurelles, conjoncturelles et de synthèse qui concernent les entreprises. Celles-ci dépendent d’une codification NOGA stable, contrôlée et de qualité des unités du REE. Dans un souci de décharge des entreprises et d’amélioration continue de la codification des entreprises, le projet vise à automatiser l’attribution des codes d’activité économique aux entreprises, en se basant, dans un premier temps, sur les informations déjà à disposition au sein de l'OFS.

Les collaborateurs qui sont en charge de la codification NOGA attribuent ou contrôlent les codes d’activité économique d’une entreprise à l’aide d’informations à disposition (inputs en provenance d’enquêtes, description de l’activité économique du registre du commerce, etc.). Ceci est inévitablement associé à une interprétation humaine et subjective des informations à disposition, ce qui rend difficile une codification standardisée.

Objectifs

Création d’un outil qui puisse associer de façon automatique les codes NOGA aux entreprises enregistrés dans le REE avec une qualité de codage égale ou majeur à la codification manuelle effectué actuellement par l'équipe NOGA.

Standardisation de la codification et réduction au minimum du facteur "interprétation" dans le processus d'attribution des codes NOGA.

Amélioration de la qualité du codage NOGA et de conséquence de toute la statistique d’entreprise.