Small area estimation (communes) of economic activity rate in the structural survey

1. Background

The structural population survey provides important information on the population, including information about work. By means of a sample survey of at least 200 000 people each year in Switzerland, it is possible to make reliable estimates of the economic activity rate of groups of 15'000 inhabitants.

By combining the surveys of several years (pooling over three or five years), it is possible to reduce this limit to groups of 5000 or 3000 people. This can be done using standard methods.

It should be noted that in 2014, Switzerland had almost 2300 communes. Of these, 80% have fewer than 5000 inhabitants and 70% fewer than 3000.

The question addressed here is whether it is possible to reduce the limits mentioned above even further to produce reliable estimates by means of new methods that are based on statistical models, which use information that is available for the whole population.

2. Objectives

The whole purpose of Small Area Estimation (SAE) is to push the boundaries imposed by standard methods by using techniques based on modelling which make use of complementary information on the population.

Professor I. Molina from the University Carlos III of Madrid, a specialist recognised internationally for this type of methods, was commissioned to examine the possibility of obtaining reliable estimates of the economic activity rate at commune level. This study, based on the 2012 structural survey and on OASI (Old-age and survivors’s insurance) data from 2011, showed that it is possible to obtain reliable estimates for both annual economic activity rates, as well as their precision (design MSE), for communes that had a sample of at least 100 people, i.e. considerably smaller than when using standard methods.

3. Procedure

Following the encouraging results obtained with the SAE methods using the 2012 structural survey and OASI data from 2011, the FSO then continued the study by investigating the possibility of combining this information with data pooled from the structural survey over several years. Specifically, these estimates refer to an average target population from the structural survey, in this case over the three years 2012-2014. The main reason is the possibility of obtaining reliable estimates for a larger number of communes than can be obtained from annual surveys because the lower limit of 100 persons in the sample remains a priori the same for the data pooling.

4. Results

Based on the conclusions of the study commissioned to Professor I. Molina, for the structural survey the FSO decided to publish only estimates for communes with a sample of at least 100 people. To have a sufficiently large sample and to be able to publish results for as many communes as possible, results are based on structural survey data pooled over three years, i.e. from 2012 to 2014. In contrast to standard methods, which enable results to be published for only 20% of communes, it is now possible, thanks to these new methods, to triple this figure, covering 60% of communes. At the end of 2014, this represented 80% of the permanent resident population in Switzerland aged 15 and over.


The results can be found in the table below:

Small area estimation results are also available on the following interactive map:

5. Limitations

Results should be interpreted with caution, as they are estimates based on an average population in the structural surveys of 2012, 2013 and 2014.

6. Methodological challenges

A number of questions remain open, posing methodological challenges to be met:

  • Can the model be further improved?
  • What is the best number of years for data pooling?
  • What impact does pooling have on estimating precision (design MSE)?
  • What is the best selection of OASI data to use?

7. Outlook

In future we hope to respond to the methodological challenges mentioned above but also to explore the possibility of using small area estimation in other FSO surveys. This will involve examining if and how these methods could best be applied to business surveys in which the small area would no longer be geographical but of a different nature (detailed level of economic activity for example).

8. Documentation

9. Enquiries

Contact: info.pop@bfs.admin.ch
Telephone: +41 58 467 25 25

Estimation petits domaines (communes) du taux d’activité dans le relevé structurel

1. Situation initiale

Le relevé structurel de la population fournit des informations importantes sur la population et notamment sur la situation du travail. Grâce à une enquête par échantillonnage d’au moins 200'000 personnes chaque année en Suisse, il est possible d’estimer le taux d’activité de manière fiable pour des groupes de 15'000 habitant/es.

En combinant les enquêtes sur plusieurs années (pooling sur trois respectivement cinq ans), il est possible de repousser cette limite à des groupes de 5'000 respectivement 3'000 personnes, ceci en utilisant les méthodes standards.

A noter que la Suisse compte en 2014 près de 2'300 communes. Parmi celles-ci, 80% ont moins de 5'000 et 70% moins de 3'000 habitant/es.

La question est ici de savoir s’il est possible de repousser encore les limites évoquées ci-dessus en produisant des estimations fiables grâce à de nouvelles méthodes qui s’appuient sur des modèles statistiques et pour lesquels de l’information existe au niveau de l’ensemble de la population.

2. Objectifs

Le but de l’estimation sur petits domaines (« Small Area Estimation : SAE ») est justement de repousser les limites imposées par les méthodes standards en utilisant des techniques basées sur la modélisation et l’utilisation d’informations complémentaires sur la population.

Un mandat a été confié dans ce sens à la Prof. I. Molina de l’« Universidad Carlos III de Madrid », spécialiste internationalement reconnue pour ce type de méthodes, afin d’étudier la possibilité d’obtenir des estimations fiables du taux d’activité au niveau des communes. Ces travaux, basés sur l’enquête structurelle de 2012 et les données de l’AVS 2011, ont permis de montrer qu’il est possible d’obtenir des estimations annuelles fiables du taux d’activité et de sa précision, pour les communes disposant d’un échantillon d’au moins 100 personnes, soit nettement plus petit qu’avec les méthodes standards.

3. Démarche adoptée

Suite aux résultats encourageants obtenus avec les méthodes SAE à partir de l’enquête structurelle de 2012 et des données de l’AVS 2011, l’OFS a ensuite poursuivi les travaux en investiguant la possibilité de combiner celles-ci avec un pooling de l’enquête structurelle sur plusieurs années. Plus précisément, ces estimations se réfèrent à une population cible moyenne de l’enquête structurelle, ici sur les trois ans 2012-2014. La motivation principale est la possibilité d’obtenir des estimations fiables pour un plus grand nombre de communes que dans le cas d’exploitations annuelles, puisque la limite de la taille d’échantillon de 100 personnes reste à priori la même pour le pooling.

4. Résultats

L’OFS a décidé sur la base des conclusions du mandat confié à la Prof. I. Molina, de ne publier pour l’enquête structurelle que des estimations pour les communes disposant d’un échantillon d’au moins 100 personnes. De manière à disposer d’un échantillon suffisamment grand et ainsi de pouvoir publier des résultats pour le plus grand nombre possible de communes, les résultats sont basés sur un pooling des données de l’enquête structurelle sur trois ans, soit de 2012 à 2014.Contrairement aux méthodes standards qui ne permettent de publier des résultats que pour 20% des communes, il est désormais possible grâce à ces nouvelles méthodes de tripler ce nombre pour passer à 60% des communes ! Fin 2014, cela représente 80% des personnes âgés de 15 ans et plus de la population résidante permanente de Suisse.

Les résultats peuvent être consultés dans le tableau ci-dessous :

Les résultats des estimations sur petits domaines sont également disponibles sur la carte interactive suivante :

5. Limitations

Il est recommandé de prendre les précautions d’usage dans l’interprétation des résultats, en considérant qu’il s’agit d’estimations pour une population moyenne de l’enquête structurelle de 2012, 2013 et 2014.

6. Défis méthodologiques

Il reste un certain nombre de points ouverts qui sont autant de défis méthodologiques à relever.

  • Le modèle a-t-il encore un potentiel d’optimisation ?
  • Quel est le meilleur choix du nombre d’années de pooling ?
  • Quel est l’impact du pooling sur l’estimation de la précision (design-MSE) ?
  • Quel est le meilleur choix des données AVS à utiliser ?

7. Perspectives

Les perspectives envisagées sont d’une part de répondre aux défis méthodologiques évoqués ci-dessus mais également d’étudier la possibilité d’utiliser l’estimation sur petits domaines dans d’autres enquêtes de l’OFS. L’idée est ainsi d’étudier si et comment ces méthodes pourraient être judicieusement appliquées dans le cadre des enquêtes auprès des entreprises où les petits domaines ne seraient pas géographiques mais d’une autre nature (niveau détaillé des activités économiques par exemple).

8. Documentation

9. Renseignement

Contact: info.pop@bfs.admin.ch
Téléphone : +41 58 467 25 25